Anyone who has searched for Naveed Akram lately knows the jolt of seeing two very different stories under the same name. One is a 24-year-old facing 78 charges in an Australian terrorism prosecution; the other is a Pakistani former footballer. The official record — the Commonwealth Director of Public Prosecutions page — is where the two split apart.

Accused’s age at time of reports: 24 years old ·
Charges reported before June 2026: 59 ·
Additional charges reported 10 June 2026: 19 ·
Investigation body: NSW Joint Counter Terrorism Team ·
Official prosecution record: CDPP page last updated 12 August 2026

Quick snapshot

1Confirmed facts
  • NSW Joint Counter Terrorism Team charged Akram with 59 offences on 17 December 2025 (ABC News).
  • BBC reported on 10 June 2026 that he was charged with another 19 offences (BBC News).
  • The reported total is 78 charges: 59 from December 2025 plus 19 from June 2026 (ABC News; BBC News). (ABC News)
2What’s unclear
  • No court outcome, plea, or custody status appears in the sources reviewed (CDPP page; BBC News).
  • No official source connects the footballer namesake to the criminal case (CDPP page; Wikipedia).
  • The full finalized charge list beyond the reported 78 is not visible in the CDPP page snippet (CDPP page).
3Timeline signal
  • 17 December 2025 — charged with 59 offences (The Guardian).
  • 6 May 2026 — Associated Press reported 19 more charges were expected. (The Guardian)
  • 10 June 2026 — 19 further offences charged (BBC News). (The Guardian)
  • 12 August 2026 — CDPP page last updated (CDPP page). (The Guardian)
4What’s next
  • The case remains a Commonwealth prosecution before the CDPP (CDPP page).
  • Watch the CDPP page and court records for the next verified update (CDPP page).
  • For the footballer namesake, Wikipedia and sports databases remain the relevant record (Wikipedia).

One official file, 78 counts: the charge breakdown below comes from the CDPP’s prosecution page (Commonwealth Director of Public Prosecutions federal prosecution service), last updated 12 August 2026, with news corroboration where noted. The CDPP page provides the only complete, official count; news reports supply the dates for each charge event.

Field Recorded detail Source
Age 24 (reported in June 2026) BBC News
Case focus Alleged attack at a Jewish festival in December 2025 Associated Press
Investigation body NSW Joint Counter Terrorism Team CDPP page
Prosecution authority Commonwealth Director of Public Prosecutions (CDPP) CDPP page
Reported charges 59 prior + 19 additional = 78 total, as of 10 June 2026 BBC News
Terrorist act charge 1 count, Criminal Code (Cth) s 101.1 CDPP page
Murder charges 15 counts, Crimes Act 1900 (NSW) s 18 ABC News
Attempted murder charges 43 counts, Crimes Act 1900 (NSW) s 27 CDPP page
Shooting with intent to murder 10 counts, Crimes Act 1900 (NSW) s 29 CDPP page
Discharging firearm with intent 7 counts, Crimes Act 1900 (NSW) s 33A CDPP page
Explosives placement charge 1 count, Crimes Act 1900 (NSW) s 48 CDPP page
Prohibited symbol display 1 count, Criminal Code (Cth) s 80.2HA CDPP page

The breakdown confirms the scale of the case: 78 charges spanning terrorism, murder, and firearms counts, all tied to one accused and one federal prosecution file.

What is the latest verified information about Naveed Akram?

December 2025 Jewish festival attack reports

  • 17 December 2025: the NSW Joint Counter Terrorism Team charged Naveed Akram with 59 offences (ABC News).
  • The Guardian reported the same day that police had charged Akram with 59 offences, in a case described as an alleged terror attack at Bondi Beach (The Guardian).
  • The December charge total includes one terrorist-act count and 15 murder counts, per the CDPP page.

Those 59 charges were the first public number in the case. They flowed from an alleged attack at a Jewish festival in Sydney in December 2025, the case focus listed on the CDPP page.

The pattern: the December charges established the scale of the prosecution — 15 murder counts alone — before any additional charges were announced.

Additional 19 charges reported in June 2026

  • 6 May 2026: Associated Press reported Akram would face 19 more charges (Associated Press wire agency).
  • 10 June 2026: BBC reported the 24-year-old had been charged with another 19 offences (BBC News).
  • With those additions, the reported total reached 78 charges.

The 10 June charge event is the most recent confirmed movement in the case. The CDPP page records the same 19 further offences under the same date.

CDPP prosecution page status

  • Last updated 12 August 2026, the CDPP’s “Prosecution of Naveed Akram” page remains the official record for the case (CDPP federal prosecution service).
  • The page’s charge list adds up to 78: one terrorist act, 15 murder, 43 attempted murder, 10 shooting with intent, 7 discharging a firearm, one explosives placement, and one prohibited symbol display.

The page names the investigation body and the dates of the charge events, but it does not state a court outcome.

The implication: the official page is the spine of the case, and every number in it is tied to a dated event. Any claim that does not match the page or a dated news report is unverified.

Bottom line: The accused Naveed Akram is defined by 78 charges and two dated charge events; the CDPP page is the record to watch until a court publishes an outcome.

What should readers know first about Naveed Akram?

Two people named Naveed Akram

  • Search results blend two namesakes: the accused in the Australian case and Muhammad Naveed Akram, a Pakistani former footballer (Wikipedia community encyclopedia).
  • The CDPP page never mentions a football career; it describes a criminal prosecution.

The two records answer different questions. One is about charges and a court process; the other is a sports biography.

Criminal case vs. footballer biography

  • The accused: 24 years old, facing 78 charges in a Commonwealth prosecution (BBC News).
  • The footballer: Muhammad Naveed Akram, listed by Wikipedia as a Pakistani former footballer (Wikipedia).
  • No source in this article connects the footballer to the alleged attack.

The BBC report that put the accused’s age at 24 also placed him at the centre of the June 2026 charge event. The Wikipedia article makes no reference to any criminal case.

Why the name collision creates misinformation risk

The catch

Headlines that omit “former footballer” leave readers with one name, two records, and no way to tell which Naveed Akram a video is about. The risk: a search for the accused can land on a footballer’s biography, erasing the criminal case entirely.

Video and social headlines often drop the middle name and the sports context. The quick test is to check the charge count: 78 charges and the CDPP point to the accused; a football career points to the other man.

Why this matters: mix the records and the story flips from a terrorism prosecution to a sports biography.

The catch: the name alone no longer identifies which Naveed Akram a headline means.

Which official sources confirm key claims about Naveed Akram?

Australian government prosecution page

  • The CDPP’s “Prosecution of Naveed Akram” page is the highest-authority source in this case; it is linked in the key facts table above.
  • On 17 December 2025, the NSW Joint Counter Terrorism Team formally referred the prosecution of charges to the CDPP (CDPP federal prosecution service).

The CDPP is Australia’s federal prosecution service. Its page is a primary official record: it names the accused, the investigation body, the charges, and the dates. That makes it the first place to check when a new number or a new charge appears in a headline.

NSW Joint Counter Terrorism Team references

  • The Joint Counter Terrorism Team is listed on the CDPP page as the body that charged Akram on 17 December 2025 and again on 10 June 2026.
  • ABC News and The Guardian corroborate the December charge event with dated reports (ABC News; The Guardian).

For the June event, BBC News provides the dated confirmation of the 19 additional offences.

The pattern: the official page names the body, the news reports date the events, and the two line up.

Court records as the authoritative record

  • Prosecution pages list charges; court records show what happens next, including plea, trial, and sentence.
  • AP News reported on 6 May 2026 that additional charges were expected before the 10 June charge event was confirmed (Associated Press).

For any status beyond charges, court records are the next document to check.

The implication: official prosecution pages and news reports confirm the past; only court records can confirm the present.

What is still unclear or unverified about Naveed Akram?

Unverified charge totals

  • The CDPP page shows 78 charges, but the full finalized charge list is not visible in the sources cited here.
  • The AP report of 6 May said 19 charges were expected; the charge event was confirmed on 10 June (Associated Press; BBC News).

The numbers that are verified are the two dated charge events: 59 on 17 December 2025 and 19 on 10 June 2026.

Unclear connection between namesakes

  • No source in this article confirms or denies a personal or family link between the accused and the footballer Muhammad Naveed Akram (Wikipedia).
  • The available evidence points to two different people: one criminal record, one sports biography.

The name collision in search results makes this gap easy to miss.

Unknown court outcome

What to watch

The next verified update is most likely to come from court records or the CDPP page, not from social video headlines. Until a court publishes an outcome, every number is provisional.

  • Custody status, plea, and trial dates are not specified in the CDPP page or the news reports reviewed here.
  • Official court records are required to verify any status beyond the reported charge counts.

The trade-off: the official record is strong on charges and dates but silent on outcome, so verdict headlines remain unverified until a court or the CDPP confirms them.

What are the most common user questions on Naveed Akram?

Who is the accused Naveed Akram?

  • A 24-year-old charged in Australia with 78 reported offences, including a terrorist act charge and 15 murder counts (BBC News; ABC News).
  • The case is prosecuted by the CDPP and was investigated by the NSW Joint Counter Terrorism Team (CDPP page).

What draws searches is the recent charge update, not the sports biography.

Who is the footballer Naveed Akram?

  • Wikipedia lists Muhammad Naveed Akram as a Pakistani former footballer (Wikipedia).
  • No source in this article links him to the criminal case.

The footballer’s record is biographical and unrelated to the prosecution, as far as the sources here show.

How can readers verify which Naveed Akram a source means?

  • Check the URL and context: prosecution pages, court listings, and news reports describe the accused; Wikipedia and sports databases describe the footballer.
  • Video and social headlines often omit the namesake distinction, so cross-check the date and the charge count.

What this means: the fastest verification is the charge count. A source that mentions 78 charges or the CDPP is about the accused; a source that mentions a football career is about the other Naveed Akram.

Naveed Akram: two records compared

One search, two identities: the accused and the footballer share a name but occupy separate records. The table below lays out the key differences side by side.

Point of comparison The accused (Australian case) The footballer (Muhammad Naveed Akram)
Record type Criminal prosecution before the CDPP (CDPP page) Sports biography on Wikipedia (Wikipedia)
Age / profile 24 years old at the time of the reports (BBC News) Pakistani former footballer (Wikipedia)
Legal exposure 78 reported charges, including one terrorist act count and 15 murder counts (BBC News; ABC News) No criminal proceedings referenced in the sources here
Where to verify CDPP page and court records Wikipedia and sports databases

The split is clean: one set of records documents charges, the other documents a career, and neither cross-references the other.

Naveed Akram case timeline

One case, five dated markers: the December charge event, the May warning, and the June addition frame the official record. A timeline focused on the CDPP page and its news corroboration follows.

Date Verified event Source
Alleged attack at a Jewish festival reported in Sydney. Associated Press wire agency
NSW Joint Counter Terrorism Team charged Akram with 59 offences, including a terrorist act charge and 15 murder counts. ABC News
AP News reported Akram would face 19 more charges. Associated Press wire agency
NSW Joint Counter Terrorism Team charged Akram with 19 further offences; the reported total reached 78. BBC News
CDPP prosecution page last updated; it remains the official record to monitor. CDPP page

The pattern: the two charge events bracket the entire case so far, with no court outcome published between them.

What is confirmed and what is not

Confirmed facts

  • Naveed Akram, 24, was charged with 59 offences on 17 December 2025 (ABC News).
  • 19 further offences were charged on 10 June 2026 (BBC News).
  • The reported total is 78 charges, including one terrorist-act count and 15 murder counts (CDPP page).
  • The CDPP page was last updated 12 August 2026 (CDPP page).

What’s unclear

  • No court outcome, plea, or custody status is published in the sources reviewed.
  • No official source connects the footballer Muhammad Naveed Akram to the criminal case.
  • The finalized charge list beyond the reported 78 is not visible in the CDPP page snippet.

The balance of the record: charges and dates are well documented; outcomes and personal links are not. A reader relying on these sources knows the scope of the prosecution but not its resolution.

What the record says

Naveed Akram is now charged with 78 offences in total.

— CDPP, “Prosecution of Naveed Akram” page

Police charged Naveed Akram with 59 offences, including committing a terrorist act and 15 counts of murder.

— ABC News, 17 December 2025

Naveed Akram, 24, was charged with another 19 offences while already facing 59 charges.

— BBC News, 10 June 2026

Police charged Naveed Akram with 59 offences.

— The Guardian, 17 December 2025

The takeaway: the official page supplies the total, and the news reports supply the dates — both describe the accused, and neither mentions a footballer.

Where the case stands

The verified record is narrow but solid: 78 charges, two dated charge events, one federal prosecution page, and no published outcome. For readers tracking Australian terrorism prosecutions, the choice is clear: check the CDPP page and court records for the next update, or risk repeating numbers that are already stale. For anyone who arrived here because of the footballer, the same discipline applies — verify the source first, because the name alone no longer identifies which Naveed Akram a headline means. The accused’s case will advance only when a court or the CDPP publishes the next verified event.

Frequently asked questions

What does it mean when reports call Naveed Akram an alleged gunman?

“Alleged” signals that the accusation is on record but no court has decided it. The CDPP page lists charges tied to an alleged attack at a Jewish festival in December 2025; the court process decides the rest.

Why is the CDPP, not the NSW Police Force, listed as the prosecution source?

The CDPP prosecutes Commonwealth offences. The NSW Joint Counter Terrorism Team investigated and charged Akram on 17 December 2025, then referred the prosecution to the CDPP, which maintains the official prosecution page.

What is the difference between being charged and being convicted?

A charge is an official accusation; a conviction is a court’s formal finding of guilt. Akram has been charged with 78 reported offences, but none of the sources reviewed here shows a conviction or court outcome.

How should readers interpret the phrase “another 19 charges” in the BBC report?

The phrase means 19 further offences were added to the 59 already charged, bringing the reported total to 78. BBC News reported this on 10 June 2026, and the CDPP page records the same 19 further offences.

Are video headlines about Naveed Akram enough to verify the charges?

No. Video and social headlines often omit the namesake distinction and can mix the accused with the footballer. Check the CDPP page, court records, or a dated news report to verify any charge.

Does the Wikipedia article about Naveed Akram confirm the Bondi Beach case?

No. Wikipedia’s article describes Muhammad Naveed Akram as a Pakistani former footballer and does not document the criminal case. The CDPP prosecution page is the official record for the accused.

Related reading